Following a tabulation of votes from Sunday’s election, the Interfraternity Council welcomed its newest members to the governing board, which oversees various greek affairs.

The new officers were selected by fraternity presidents and subsequently elected to IFC, the board that represents 10 UCSB fraternities and maintains nine executive positions. The newly elected greek council members will begin their one-year term in Winter Quarter.

Sigma Phi Epsilon’s J.P. Primeau was elected IFC’s new president. Primeau, a third-year pharmacology and business economics major, served as last year’s IFC Risk Chair and is currently a Rep-at-Large on the Associated Students Legislative Council. He said that as IFC President he will focus on reducing stereotypes associated with the greek system.

“One of my goals as president is to work on the image of the greek system with the UCSB community at large,” Primeau said. “There are a lot of students on campus that are hesitant to look in the greek system because of the historic stereotypes associated with it. As president of the IFC, I want to work to change that image by increasing the visibility of greek activities at UCSB.”

Primeau said the IFC serves to organize recruitment efforts and plan Greek Week events like barbeques at the residence halls, concerts and fairs.

“The IFC is a coalition of the fraternities on campus that throws all greek events,” Primeau said. “The secondary purpose is to serve as a conflict mediator between the fraternities if it comes to that. Basically, if anything goes wrong in the greek system, the IFC plays a heavy role.”

Outgoing Sigma Nu President Garrett Sacks was elected as next year’s IFC Vice President. Sacks said he wants to use his position to better unite UCSB’s fraternities.

“I wanted to get involved in something that’s not only limited to one greek house, but a larger greek system,” Sacks said. “On the Interfraternity Council, we keep all the fraternities in check and raise greek awareness.”

The newly elected board will also consist of Communications Chair Keddy Russell-Curry of Sigma Phi Epsilon, Recruitment Chair Joe Cole of Beta Theta Pi, Treasurer Henray Cohen of Sigma Nu, Activities Chair Nick Vaca of Kappa Sigma and Media Relations Chair Sean Forage of Sigma Phi Epsilon.

Outgoing IFC President Henry Lindemann, a fourth-year global studies major and Alpha Tau Omega member, said IFC keeps fraternities active and focused.

“The IFC has an executive board that provides a resource for the fraternity presidents to get together and plan events such as rush, philanthropy and community service,” Lindemann said. “Each fraternity has certain requirements such as community service hours, and the IFC ensures that all these requirements are completed.”