On Wednesday night, the 2019-2020 Associated Students executives – President Alison Sir, Internal Vice President Alli Adam, External Vice President for Statewide Affairs Daevionne Beasley,  External Vice President for Local Affairs Christian Ornelas and Student Advocate General Andrew Nguyen – were sworn in by their predecessors. All 23 senators making up the 70th Senate were sworn in as well, with cheers from a crowd made up partially from senators from the 69th Senate.

The 69th Senate closed out its year on friendly terms and the 70th Senate’s first meeting, held at 9:30 p.m. directly after the 69th Senate adjourned for the last time, was spent discussing who would serve as Adam’s first and second pro-tempores.

The full list of this year’s senators can be found here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Daily Nexus Photography
A cool team of photographers who preserves the visual memory of UCSB and Isla Vista. The photo editor can be reached at photo@dailynexus.com.