After splitting the weekend matches against the University of Texas San Antonio and #73 UC Irvine, the UCSB women’s tennis team will continue their road show this weekend when they go against San Jose State and Santa Clara.

The Gauchos (2-2 overall) played well even in their most recent loss to the nationally ranked Anteaters, extending their top-seeded doubles winning streak to four matches. Seniors Marta Simic and Charlotte Scatliffe have consistently engineered solid performances, winning each match by an average of four games. Sophomore Asagi Onaga has the best winning percentage of the team in singles at 3-1 going into the weekend and recorded UCSB’s only point against the Anteaters. Senior Juliette Mutzke earned her first start against Irvine in the sixth singles spot for struggling senior Brittany Kausen, who has yet to win a match this season. Mutzke was blanked by Irvine, so it is unclear which veteran will get the start this weekend.

UCSB begins their weekend against San Jose State (1-1), a team that has been out of action since their 7-0 loss to UC Davis back on Feb. 12. The Spartans have yet to play consistently, beating Sonoma State 7-0 days before the Davis match. Senior Ashley Tavita and junior Amber Silverstone occupy the number one doubles spot for San Jose State and have gone 1-1 on the year. UCSB leads the all time series against the Spartans 12-0.

The following day, the Gauchos square off against the struggling Broncos (1-6) who are coming off a 6-1 loss to conference rival #50 Saint Mary’s, their fourth loss to a ranked opponent this season. Freshman standout Carmen Pham earned the lone singles point against Saint Mary’s, and by doing so extended her winning streak to two matches. In doubles, Santa Clara starts junior Stepanie Galainena and freshman Ashley Pane in the top spot. The duo has gone 1-6 on the season, the same record held by the Bronco’s two other doubles tandems.

First serve in Silicon Valley is set for 1:30 p.m., while Saturday’s match-up against Santa Clara is slated for a 10 a.m. start time.