The good news keeps coming for the UCSB men’s soccer team.

Senior midfielder Memo Arzate and CSUN’s William Sims were named Big West Offensive co-Players of the Year and junior goalkeeper Danny Kennedy was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

Arzate leads the Big West conference with 17 assists and is second in the league in points with 29. Kennedy boasts a .94 goals against average and has seven shutouts on the year.

Arzate has had a decorated two year career while at UCSB, recording a Big West Conference record of 35 assists. Last season Arzate was named an honorable mention All-American by College Soccer News, averaging .86 assists per game.

Kennedy earned second team All-Big West honors a year ago and lead the conference in wins with 16 and in shutouts with 6.

The Gauchos also had five first team All-Big West players, the most of any team in the Big West. Joining Kennedy and Arzate on the team were junior forward Drew McAthy, senior midfielder David McGill and junior defender Tony Lochhead. This is the second year in a row McAthy has earned first team honors.

Seniors forward Neil Jones and midfielder Matt Kubota, along with junior defender Jon Apilado, earned spots on the All-Big West second team. Senior midfielder Darren Doi was named as an honorable mention.

Northridge won the three other conference awards as Edwin Miranda won his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honors, Sims won the award for Freshman of the Year and Terry Davila was named Coach of the Year.

UCSB returns to the field on Nov. 26 and plays the winner of the San Jose State/Cal first round match. The second round match will be held at Harder Stadium and the time is still to be determined.
– Nexus Staff Report