Here are some of our Artsweek writers’ favorite tracks from February!

“Sugar Rush Ride” by TOMORROW X TOGETHER

“Sugar Rush Ride” is the title track off K-pop group TOMORROW X TOGETHER’S newest and highly anticipated album, “The Name Chapter: TEMPTATIOn.” The title track is an upbeat and lively song about being addicted to someone or something — letting loose and enjoying the moment. The music video, which has garnered over 100 million views since it has been released, is filled with bright colors and captivating choreography that captures viewer’s  attention and leaves them in awe. The album as a whole follows a Peter Pan Neverland concept that explores themes of not wanting to grow up and wishing for a more carefree life. Overall, this is a strong, catchy and successful comeback for TXT that is sure to bring in new fans and be relevant for months to come. 

– Diana Mateescu

“Glue Song” by beabadoobee

“Glue Song” released by singer-songwriter Beatrice Laus, known by her stage name as beabadoobee, is the embodiment of walking on clouds. Released on Valentine’s Day, it is the epitome of romance and joy. It’s a simple and sweet ditty meant to describe how happy beabadoobee is in her new relationship. She has teased the song a few times on her last tour and via TikTok, where it quickly grew in popularity. Its official release did not disappoint. As she sings, “I’ve never known someone like you,” one can’t help but to feel smitten. Her soft, melodic voice accompanied by guitar and violins captures the carefree feeling of being head-over-heels for someone.

– Sally Shapiro 

“Liar” by Paramore

Paramore is back! They released their new album, “This Is Why,” on Feb. 10, and it was definitely worth the nearly six-year wait since their last, “After Laughter.” “This Is Why” pivots from the electronic, vibrant and synth-pop sounds of “After Laughter” towards a more rock-focused, post-punk and dream-pop sound. “Liar” wears these influences on its sleeve. singer Hayley Williams sings lyrics filled with post-punk-inspired melodramatic undertones like, “Pin back in the grenade / And all the ways I’d keep you safe / I keep you safe from me.” Throughout the song, swirling guitars are carried from verse to verse by a beautiful reverb, allowing the part to sit with listeners. The subdued drums continue this dreamy and mellow aesthetic of the track. “Liar” concludes with a final rendition of the stellar chorus, cementing the lyrics, “And, oh, my love, I lied to you / But I never needed to / Oh, my love, I lied to you / But you always knew the truth,” even further into the audience’s minds. 

– Isabel Hiestand

“Body Better” by Maisie Peters

“Body Better” was released on Jan. 27 by English singer-songwriter Maisie Peters. In the song, Peters looks back on a past relationship and questions where everything went wrong, asking, “I can’t help thinking that she’s got a better body / Has she got a body better than mine?” The track is upbeat and catchy, which provides the perfect contrast to its vulnerable lyrics. Known for her songwriting abilities, Peters does not shy away from brutal honesty and intimate emotions, boldly exposing her personal insecurities. The bridge is packed with anxiety, as Peters spirals while trying to pinpoint the cause of her heartbreak, asking question after question. “Body Better” serves as the lead single for her upcoming sophomore album “The Good Witch”, which will be released June 16.

– Lauren Chiou

“Lost” by Linkin Park

Beloved alternative rock band Linkin Park shocked many with the surprise release of “Lost,” initially recorded in 2003. “Lost” marks the second original song released by the band after lead vocalist Chester Bennington’s passing in 2017. The track was initially recorded to be a part of the band’s 2003 album “Meteora” but was scrapped over concerns that it was too similar to “Numb.” In an interview with Audacy, rhythm guitarist and co-vocalist Mike Shinoda revealed that the song was quite literally lost and was rediscovered when the band went through past recordings to create a boxset for the 20th anniversary of “Meteora.” The track is constructed in typical Linkin Park fashion: a quiet, restrained beginning explodes into an emotionally charged chorus, heightened by Bennington’s raw and unconfined vocals. Hearing Bennington’s voice proved to be an emotional moment for fans, with many taking to social media to express both their joy and grief. “Lost” debuted on the Billboard Hot 100 at No. 38, marking the band’s first top 40 hit since 2012 and serving as yet another reminder of Linkin Park’s tremendous legacy and unmistakable impact.

– Kyra Schimpf