Peyton Stotelmyre / Daily Nexus

Start your summer off right with these newly released songs from June picked by the Artsweek’s staff!

“Dejavu” by Mak Ro 

Mak Ro, an up-and-coming duo of Filipino-American cousins, released their ninth official single “Dejavu” that focuses on a relationship that reminds their partner of a figment of their own imagination. The soft sounds of the guitar combined with the artists’ voices evoke a sad and reminiscent tone throughout the song, capturing the blissful yet eerie meaning of the lyrics. The lyrics of the chorus — “You kinda feel like someone made up in my brain / You kinda feel like / Someone I’ve lost / You kinda feel like someone I fell for in vain / You kinda feel like / Someone I’ve loved” — explore the blurred lines of whether or not their current partner reminds them of their past lover, or someone that is merely just made up in their mind. 

— Isabella Chichioco

“I Like You (A Happier Song) (with Doja Cat)” by Post Malone ft. Doja Cat 

Post Malone’s fourth studio album, “Twelve Carat Toothache,” focuses on a more mature theme and tone than the artist’s previous works, and all 14 tracks bring different topics and sounds to make the album a perfect summer listen. The fifth track on the album, “I Like You (A Happier Song) (with Doja Cat)” is exactly as the title suggests: a happier song from the rest of the album that will make you want to dance around your room. Featuring Doja Cat, this vibrant hip-hop love song explores the idea of a platonic relationship between the opposite sex and whether or not they really are “just friends.” 

— Isabella Chichioco

“Left and Right (Feat. Jung Kook of BTS)” by Charlie Puth ft. Jung Kook 

For all the members of BTS A.R.M.Y. who were sad to hear about the boy group’s hiatus, don’t fear because all the members will be working on solo projects – namely Jung Kook, who has teamed up with Charlie Puth to give us a fun pop song to jam out to in the summer: “Left and Right (Feat. Jung Kook of BTS).” This collaboration has been long awaited, with Puth constantly showing teasers of this song through TikTok and Twitter. The song has a catchy chorus and tune that describes how moving on from a past lover can be hard, as seen in the lyrics of the chorus: “Memories follow me left and right / I can feel you over here, I can feel you over here / You take up every corner of my mind.” The message of this song is also explored in the music video, which generated over 50 million views within the first few days of the song’s release. 

— Isabella Chichioco

“Glimpse of Us” by Joji 

Joji’s newest music release since his 2020 sophomore studio album “Nectar,” “Glimpse of Us” is an elevated track in his usual sad boy style. The stripped-down piano ballad explores Joji’s feelings for a past lover, and how throughout his relationship with his current partner he is reminded of that previous relationship. “And I try to fall for her touch / But I’m thinkin’ of the way it was … I’m only here passing time in her arms / Hopin’ I’ll find a glimpse of us,” Joji sings in falsetto, without the usual alterations of his voice. The heartwrenching track debuted at No. 10 on the Billboard Hot 100, Joji’s most successful single to date. The minimalist instrumentation of the track that showcases Joji’s voice, along with the popular reception of the track, demonstrates how far the internet sensation has come and fosters anticipation for Joji’s next music project.

— Marisol Cruz

“BREAK MY SOUL” by Beyoncé 

Iconic Houston-hailing multi-hyphenate artist Beyoncé teases her upcoming seventh studio album “Renaissance” with a house music dance track. “BREAK MY SOUL” samples the 1990 dance track “Show Me Love” by Robin S. and the 2014 bounce track by Big Freedia. The upbeat track highlights a carefree attitude as the Grammy-award winning singer sings, “I’m lookin’ for motivation / I’m lookin’ for a new foundation, yeah / And I’m on that new vibration.” The track has roots in queer, Black house music culture and the lyrics reference this: “The queens in the front and the doms in the back / Ain’t takin’ no flicks but the whole clique snapped / There’s a whole lot of people in the house.” An overall electrifying track, it represents the excitement surrounding Queen B’s return. 

— Marisol Cruz


Marisol Cruz
Marisol Cruz serves as the Artsweek editor for the 2021-2022 school year. She can always be found listening to music.